Spiritual Import of Religious Festivals : 10-4.

Chapter 10: The Esoteric Significance of the Devi Mahatmya -4.

( A talk given on the 13th of October, 1972, during the Navaratri worship.)
By Swami Krishnananda

There are three stages of transformation described in the three sections of the Devi-Mahatmya.

The first one is where Adi-Sakti awakens Maha-Vishnu who was asleep, so that He may destroy or overcome the original demoniacal forces, Madhu and Kaitabha.

The second stage is where the same Sakti manifests Herself as Maha-Lakshmi and overcomes Mahishasura and Raktabija.

The third one is where Sumbha and Nisumbha are destroyed by Maha-Sarasvati.

And the nine days of worship, which are referred to as Navaratri, comprehend these three stages adored in three days of worship, each.

The final victory is called Vijaya-Dasami, the tenth day.

That is the day of Victory, where you master the forces of Nature completely and your goal is reached.

When you step over nine, you enter into Infinity.

Numbers are only nine; you do not have ten numbers.

Swami Krishnananda
To be continued  ...

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Swami Udit Chaithanya :

Poojya Swami Bhoomananda Tirthaji’s Main Ashram : "Narayanashrama Tapovanam"